Board Leadership

Heartland Health Centers is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of local community members and patients. As a federally qualified health center, at least 51% of Directors must be active patients.

Heartland Health Centers also has a number of advisory boards that help us carry out our work. There is a Development Board dedicated to fundraising and building community support for our mission. We also have eight Community Advisory Boards for specific health centers dedicated to advising us and partnering with us on how to best meet the needs of our patients and the community.

Board of Directors


Chair, Phillip Dothard
Board Vice-Chair, Thomas Serafine
Secretary, Doris Gray
Treasurer, David Campbell – Finance Committee Chair

Board Members

Fahad Al-Nimah
Ruth Barrera
Benjamin Correia-Harker– Nominating Committee Chair
MaryKathryn Hurd
Doug Klegon – Community Relations and Planning Chair
Linda Lozano
Jerome Lucas
Diane MacDonald
Patricia Parsons
Darlene Pereda – Quality Improvement and Human Resources Committee Chair
Kristen Plocinick
Maureen Sanderson

Development Board


Janet Syverson


Aaron Anderson
Sally Bleeks
Sandy Gaynor
Henry Lotsof
Darlene Pereda
Gwenn Rausch
Barb Runyen
Sara Shapiro
Candace Wendell
Donna Wiggs

Community Advisory Boards

Heartland Pediatric Center – Lakeview
Rick Cummings – Central Lakeview Merchants Association, Program Manager
Sougata Deb – 44th Ward Alderman Tom Tunney’s office, Director – Infrastructure & Special Projects
Sara Feigenholtz – Illinois House of Representatives, State Representative-12th District
Andrew French – Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Manager of Administrative Services
Maura Neafsey – Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Social Worker
Crystal Sahler – Lakeview Action Coalition, Leader
Sharon Soloman – Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Social Worker
Socorro Torres – Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Supervisor – Patient Financial Services
Oscar Zambrano – Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Director of Physician Services

Heartland Health Center – Rogers Park
49th Ward Alderman Joe Moore’s office
Barbara Dever – Chicago Park District -Pottowatomi Park, Supervisor
Monica Dillon –Loyola Community Nursing Center, RN, Project Director
Jim Ginderske – Neighbors for a Healthy Rogers Park, President
Doris Gray – Heartland Health Centers Board of Directors, Secretary
Gerry Fernandez – Vietnamese Association of Illinois, Health Program Coordinator
Othman Al Ani – Iraqi Mutual Aid, Case Manager
Renuka Sharma – Indo American, Literacy Coordinator
Susana Salgado – Centro Romero, Youth Program Director
Maria Kamenaki – Howard Area Community Center, Director of Health and Human Services
Paul Reise – Rogers Park Business Alliance, Project Manager

Heartland Health Center – Lincoln Square
Stefanie Balvanz – CEDA WIC Albany Park, Site Supervisor
Jenise Celestin – Swedish Covenant Hospital, Community Relations Manager
Dina Evans – Albany Park Community Center, Senior Director of Children’s Programs
Radhika Sharma Gordon – Apna Ghar, Domestic Violence Educator and Trainer
Carl Hurdlik – Chicago Public Schools, Community Coordinator-Family & Community Engagement
Rebecca Rico – Peterson Garden Project, Program Manager, Events & Special Programs
Dara Salk – 47th Ward Alderman Pawar’s office, Constituent Services Liaison
Karou Watanabe – Cambodian Association of Illinois, Director of Social Service Programs
Heidi Bush – Lincoln Square Friendship Center, Director

Heartland Health Center – Wilson
Leslie Combs – Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky’s office, District Director
Lise Hauser – Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center, Supervisor-Nurse Midwifery Service
Kesha Larkins – Christopher House, Associate Director of Health & Disabilities
Tam Nguyen – Chinese Mutual Aid Association, Employment Counselor
Karou Watanabe – Cambodian Association of Illinois, Director of Social Service Programs
Abin Kuriakose – Bridget Gainer, Director of Community Affairs and Outreach
Erin Hantke – Heartland Health Outreach, Associate Director
Gerry Fernandez – Vietnamese Association of Illinois, Health Program Coordinator
Samantha Rifkin – Jewish United Fund, Uptown Café and Nutrition Coordinator

Heartland Health Center – Uplift
Mary Pat Burgess – Chicago Department of Public Health, Program Director of School Based Oral Health
Greg Harris – Illinois House of Representatives, State Representative-34th District
Marc Kaplan – Uplift Community High School, Advisory Local School Council
Andrea Kuebbeler – Alternatives, Inc., Director of Clinical Services
Stephanie Moore – Uplift Community High School, Principal
Viviana Ploper – Community Counseling Centers of Chicago, Vice President of Children and Family Services
Rachel Reichlin – Nurse and Former Schweitzer Fellow
Jennifer Stewart – Uplift Community High School, Parent
Heidi Hortolaza-Alvear – EverThrive, Director of Child & Adolescent Health Initiatives
Lissie Mathews – Uplift Community High School, Nurse

Heartland Health Center – Hibbard
Linda Duncan – North Park University, Dean-School of Nursing
Guadalupe Gonzalez – Hibbard Elementary School and Albany Park Multicultural Academy, Parent
Edgar Pineda – Hibbard Elementary School, Assistant Principal
Donna Oberhardt – Edison Regional Gifted Center, Principal
Eileen O’Toole – Albany Park Multicultural Academy, Principal
David Waxman – Edison Regional Gifted Center, Parent

Heartland Health Centers – Senn
Michael Biela – Rickover Naval Academy, Principal
Carter Carey – Senn High School, Assistant Prinicpal
David Darroch – Senn High School, Assistant Principal
Andrea Kuebbeler – Alternatives, Inc., Clinical Director
Joan Lipschutz – Senn High School and Rickover Naval Academy, Nurse
Susan Lofton – Senn High School, Principal
Divya Mohan Little – Illinois Coalition of School Health Centers, Project Director
LaToya Tucker – Rickover Naval Academy, Parent

Heartland Health Center – Roosevelt
Radhika Sharma Gordon – Healthy Albany Park, Community Wellness and Safety Advocate
Andrea Kuebbeler – Alternatives, Inc., Clinical Director
Michael Marren – Roosevelt High School,Teacher
Thad Ryberg – Heartland Health Outreach, Associate Director-International FACES
Mary Terrell – Roosevelt High School, Nurse
Ricardo Trujillo – Roosevelt High School, Principal
Joe Wilson – Roosevelt High School, Lead PE/Health teacher